Discuss vent overflowing after re-filling system in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
C

cymro

Hi Guys,
I,m sure this has been covered a multitude of times, but some additional advice would be most appreciated please.

I have been using the CH system for many years with no problems, it's about 30 years old, the boiler was replaced about 6 years ago (baxi) and the pump replaced about 4 years back.

Last Autumn, the 2 port valve ( there's only one in the system ) failed to close properly, so I couldn't have "hot water only" without the radiators getting hot, this wasn't a problem in the winter, but needed changing.

I replaced it last week, and took the opportunity whilst the system was drained to replace all the radiator valves, some of which were leaking.

I re-filled the system, adding some cleaner, and fired the boiler, all seemed well, but it kept cutting out, I suspected airlocks, but it seemed to work ok later.

I ran it for a couple of days, then drained out the inky water, re-filled it ran it for a bit then drained it again, with the water coming out quite clear.

Re filled the system with inhibitor added.

Had the heating on for a few hours last night , all ok but this morning the boiler cut out again, re-set it and it came on ok, but I noticed that the vent was overflowing into the header tank, (there's only one tank)

The pump was set to 2, which it's always been run at, I put it on 3, which increased the flow from the vent. Reducing it to 1 stopped the vent overflowing.

Incidentally, the level in the tank was not increasing, indicating that the system was re-filling itself so presumably no blockages in the feed from the tank

I'm pretty sure there's no blockages in the system, and there's no gurgling sounds, I checked all rads and none needed bleeding.