Users can remove all display ads (not sponsors) for a small fee. Click for info (must be logged in)

Discuss Bleeding a radiator problem in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
S

scot22

On one of the radiators I am not able to move the valve to release the air - it appears seized. Any tips on ways to free it ? Can I do any damage ? ( if its possible I seem to do it ! ) Thanks for any help.

Big tip ..... if it's stuck, do not attempt it with a worn or plastic vent key, start off with a good quality brass key. Put some weight behind it and have a go . Do not do it if the heating is on .

Turn that radiator off on both sides if you are worried. Taking note of how many turns they were open for when you turn them back on.

If it won't budge you could try this, I've never tried one before but remember it coming up a while ago!!

Home

I just ordered 20 of them;)
BTW, if it's not a recurring problem and just a 'one off', then: with the heating off, place a towel or container below the rad valve, then using a spanner, undo the valve carefully till air, then water comes out. Tighten up the valve and voila, job done

I've never seen those before, great job, gonna order a couple as well

Just so you know, when I said I had ordered 20, it was just a 'figure of speech'. I didn't order any and have no intention to. But I'm sure you will need them, so do not hesitate to order yours.

Just so you know, when I said I had ordered 20, it was just a 'figure of speech'. I didn't order any and have no intention to. But I'm sure you will need them, so do not hesitate to order yours.

got to give you 10/10 for being the best idiot any village could wish for :)

I just ordered 20 of them;)