Discuss Buying Tools and Materials in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
M

Mark Mckenzie

I'm just starting out and wondering where the best place is to buy materials and tools from. I live in Norwich and know of a few merchants but cost always seem to vary. I really hate screwfix but still find myself in there more than i'd like (early and late opening hours are helpful sometimes) Are there any decent Plumbing Suppliers on-line? Or is it best to stick with the merchants? Anyone use PlumbCentre?

Cheers

Mark

A lot of people use BES. Why do you hate Screwfix? Are you a member of any plumbing trade associations? If yes, then Screwfix will offer you Plumb Fix prices at any branch of Screwfix or online. These prices are hard to beat, whether it’s a boiler or a bag of 15mm elbows. The quality these days is good too.

Why not supplement this by opening a trade account with your local independent plumbers merchants? That way you can pop to a place and pick up more unusual items, and build a two way relationship with a local business. My local merchants will phone around for unusual items, and do the leg work for me. They do this because they know I use them over people like PTS, Plumb Centre, and Plumb Base.

Works for me. Good luck.

you can pick up tools & even materials on ebay at good prices . toolstation is good for plumbing materials, they are a bit cheaper than screwfix. i find plumbcentre a bit expensive.

I use plumb centre most of the time . Mix it with a bit of screw fix for sundries. Any price that beats plumb I show them. They want my money and it's easier to shop at one place. I get good credit, flexible if I don't pay smack on time. And they look after me. Be right with them . Keep an eye on prices and make them feel you want to give them all your business. Get in with plumb manager. Remember proper merchants are better for helping u with problems. Getting u those spare air tap and plugs etc.