Search the forum,

Discuss Pumping from thermal store, connections, flow rates, storage and recovery times in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
C

craigy

Hello all,

I have been a member for a while but fresh to posting.
I am a plumber with 5yrs experience, qualifications in hot and cold water and licences unvented for your info.

This is the first time I have come across this type of setup in a house so require advice on my action plan.
The type of system in the house I am working on is c/h fully pumped and vented, gravity hot water heated indirectly via coil and mains fed header tank for supply to h/w cylinder. The cylinder is a combination type with the cold supply bang on top of the hot cylinder and fully jacketed(thermal store?) it is a 40/120 cold store/hot store cylinder.
All cold draw offs in the house are mains fed. Incoming mains pressure is 3 bar and flow rate is 16ltr/min off peak.
i am installing a mixer shower with over head square shower head (36sq") and diverted to hand held.
i am putting in a negative head pump 1.5bar.
Knowing the cold storage requirements were not there and the 40ltr for the hot storage was insufficient I have installed 2x18 gallon tanks in the loft and linked them with 22mm copper, I am feeding one tank from the mains with a equilibrium valve delivering 12ltr/min. From the other tank I plan to tap into and feed the pump and just above tap into and send a supply down to the combination cylinder cold storage tank with another equilibrium valve setting both at the same level.
i have considered increasing the overflows in case of overloading should both valves fail.