Discuss Tap wrench in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
M

MMdesigns

Hello
I am currently studying Product design at university and have chosen to design a tap wrench for my final year design as many of my friends (who are plumbers) constantly moan about how annoying tap nuts are and how the crow foot wrenches are useless.

I was wondering if anyone would be willing to give me some feedback about what they find wrong with existing wrench designs. I would also like to know if people have the same problems with the bearhug or jaw dropper designs ?

any comments are welcome

thank you
Matt Mannion

no problems with mine, any improvement would be to make them lighter!!

go go gadget basin wrench mine is great had it from my apprentship, dont really like using anyone elses, my be put a light on it and a flow gauge so you could balance the hots and colds to the correct flow requirments, rachet mode would be hand too! :):D:)

Usually the head works are to big to get into all washbasins or the fixed jaws don't fit the back nut. Also few go down far enough or open up far enough for many washbasin monobloc mixers.

may be put a light on it

Nice idea

Usually the head works are to big to get into all washbasins or the fixed jaws don't fit the back nut. Also few go down far enough or open up far enough for many washbasin monobloc mixers.

this is the problem i am trying to solve and i think a couple of my concepts may do just that. i am looking into making it adjustable because the influx of forigen tradesmen has meant there are hundreds of non standardised fittings now used in the uk.

thanks for your help , any suggestions are welcome

Good idea. As a woman with small hands and not the greatest grip strength some sort of ergonomic handle would be good. If nothing else find a way to slim the jaw and get a light on it and I'll trial your prototype!:D

an ergonomic handle is in my design spec

thanks