Discuss Waste pipe problems in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
K

KJH

Hi

Please bear with me as I am a complete plumbing novice but have a bit of a problem I hope you can help with.
We had a new bathroom installed (by a friend of a friend - big mistake!) a few months ago and the shower has never drained properly. To get it to drain you have to fill the sink then let the water out so that the shower drain gurgles - then the shower will drain. Obviously during the day the basin gets used for handwashing etc so only small volumes of water are discharged and this seems to be what causes the shower to then drain too slowly. Only the large discharge from the sink 'clears' the shower drain.
The bathroom set up - Single stack system. Sink, shower and bath all taken to the stack on the same waste pipe. Sink is about 5m away from the stack, shower about 4m and bath about 2.5m away. We have added an anti-vac trap to the sink and an AAV after the shower but nothing has solved the problem.
Am I right in thinking only solution is now to get the shower onto a seperate waste pipe into the stack (which will be a nightmare as our stack is inside the house and curved etc)?
Thanks for your help
KH

Can't see why it won't drain.??? but if the drain pipes are not angled correctly to disperse of the waste, that would create a backflow towards the shower. Seems a bit odd, have u got the right trap on the shower waste ? let me know.

It might help to know - How high above (or below) the floor the bottom of the waste pipe is at entry to stack and how high above the floor the bottom of the shower tray is and the actual length of pipe run (4m?). I wonder what fall you have achieved.