Search the forum,

Discuss Can a gas leak detector help me? in the UK Plumbing Forum | Plumbing Advice area at PlumbersForums.net

Hi sorry im a newbie, pls help if u can.

I had a new bathroom installed about a yr ago and since then when i flush the toilet the room stinks of sewer gas. Not only does the b/room stink it also smells in the kitchen too, which is directly below the toilet/b-room. It doesnt do it everytime, which is why its been hard to identify 4 plumbers or experts that come over. It does it alot more when i use the small flush button on the toilet as opposed to the big button. Even when its not stinking the house out tho there are areas close to the floor in the b-room where u can get a smell of it, so somein isnt sealing properly and doesnt shut correctly everytime its flushed. 1 plumber just said its really hard as its a smell so couldnt help!

Im wondering if i bought a gas leak reader (capable of detecting methane and h2s) whether it would be sensitive enough to detect the gas in the air after flushing, if i held it right next to the toilet for example. I need to prove its happening before i can claim against my insurance. It stinks so badly i would have thought it would detect something, or am i wrong?

Also could it be the toilet (that was cheap from an online place) or maybe the durgo getting stuck or something?

Please advise if u can!
Thanks

Did you have a bath replaced with a shower tray?

Yes pretty much everything. bath was against side wall now against back wall so 90 degrees to what it was, shower on back wall also, toilet against left side wall rather than against back wall as b4. there used to be a vent pipe going through ceiling, into loft and out roof but plumber told me no longer needed and a durgo was fitted...?

its gonna be super difficult to pin down whats causing it, just hoping its not ripping all the tiles out. For now i just wanted to detect the gas so people cant say im a mentalist!!!! :)