Users can remove all display ads (not sponsors) for a small fee. Click for info (must be logged in)

Discuss Shower pump choice in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
N

NickP88

Hi there,

Hoping someone can help me out with this, I'm not an expert so apologies in advance for my own simpleton level of understanding of the issue.

The other week my shower pump burnt out, a Triton T450i, which was gravity fed from the tank and then itself fed my electric shower. Having read pretty poor reviews of the pump and the shower not really being particularly powerful, I opted to replace it with a Stuart Turner pump, however this failed to kick in and when I spoke with their support, they said whilst the spec of the pump suggested it would be a suitable replacement it wouldn't however be suitable for an electric shower.

So basically, I don't want to have to buy another Triton T450i, for starters they take 4 days to order in and I've already been showering out of a bucket for a week, also it wasn't particularly great anyway. However, it surely isn't the only positive head pump on the market for electric showers????

Can anyone recommend a suitable alternative? (ideally one I can pick up at screwfix!)

Appreciate any help,

Many thanks,

Nick

You need a negative head single impeller pump for an electric shower.

Thanks for your response.

Well this is what i'm confused by, as the Triton T450i is a single impeller positive head pump, and looks like it had been in there for years running fine.

Negative head pumps appear to be quite a bit pricier also, do you know whether a regenerative pump such as this might do the job? Salamander Pumps CT55+ Regenerative Shower Pump 1.6bar | Shower Pumps | NoLinkingToThis

Thanks